President Akufo – Addo makes changes to his government

By Joseph Boateng

The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has made changes to his government in a major reshuffle since he took office seven years ago.

In a release signed by the Director of Communications at the Presidency Eugene Arhin date 14th February, 2024 key ministers who have exited the government include the Finance Minister – Ken Ofori Atta, Roads and Highways Minister Kwasi Amoako – Atta and the Local Government, Decentralization and Rural Development minister Dan Botwe. The reshuffle also affected some deputy ministers like Benito Owusu Bio of the Lands and Natural Resources, Moses Anim of the Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministries.

While the reshuffle saw the exit of some ministers’ others like Francis Asenso – Boakye, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Henry Quartey were reassigned to other ministries.  New entrants in the Akufo – Addo ministerial portfolio to help him execute his final year of his second term mandate include Bernard Okoe Boye for Health Ministry, Lydia Seyram Alhassan for Sanitation and Water Resources, Dakoa Newman.  

These appointments according to the statement takes immediate effect:

The President personally expressed his sincere appreciation directly to each of the Ministers and Deputy Ministers, who have exited Government, for their commitment, competence, dedication and hard work in office, which helped in the realization of Government’s mandate to the Ghanaian people over the last seven (7) years, and wished each of them well in their future endeavours.

Following the re-organisation of the Government, President Akufo-Addo has submitted to Parliament, for prior approval, through the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, the names of the persons for appointment as Ministers and Deputy Ministers of State, in accordance with articles 78, 79 and 256, respectively, of the Constitution.

Gh News Hub

Gh News Hub

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *